on sucking up…

August 6, 2010

You know, as much as I loathe the act of ass-kissing, I wonder… am I doing the same when I comment on other people’s blog (and other assorted webpresences) and leave my calling card there (as in, my web id – this blog and the google site)?

It’s a little hard to answer. I need to know my own thoughts, my own mental sensations, before I can form a conclusion.

I guess… an interesting post is an interesting post. It deserves comment, criticism, notice, attention (assuming the author needs it. If the author already has, like, 30+ comments then I take it he/she’s pretty happy and so I don’t need to add my comment) and so one should be able to comment, if he/she wants to, without others (or himself) thinking of himself as sucking up.

Perhaps, I should simply start cutting my calling card…. stop leaving my web address when I comment…

7 Responses to “on sucking up…”


  1. I think it’s a good idea to leave comments. It always makes my day when I get a good one. So, thanks for your comments.

  2. aerial_meds Says:

    Oh, I’m not saying not to leave one. I’m just saying maybe I should stop attaching my url when I do. I’m also saying that perhaps a small-timer’s comment isn’t worth much on a big, popular blog, like say A Reluctant Mind, unless its a pretty constructive comment.

  3. aerial_meds Says:

    And you’re welcome!


  4. I don’t think anybody is a small-timer :) Sorry to keep disagreeing with you but I assure my intentions aren’t evil. And I am glad you left your url because now I can read your blog too. The more the merrier.

  5. aerial_meds Says:

    To each his own then. :)

    Yes, well, there’s no telling whether the author is interesting in checking out the website of a commentarian. I mean, make a lame comment (something only the author can decide) and you’re probably out of consideration. Perhaps one of the benefits a non-human name like “aerialmeds” is that one can just google it up if he/she really wants to check out that person’s webpresence.


  6. Perhaps you’re right. Non-human or not, aerialmeds is a fascinating word. At first sight/read, it made me think of sci-fi drugs which made an interesting picture in my head.


Leave a Reply

