pretension

November 15, 2010

One of the things I love about Helmet is their look. No idiotic ‘rock star’ pretension at all. Although its recent incarnation does have the newer members looking  typical white boy B grade modern rock group members.  Same was the case with Ashes Divide. Oh well.

If I recall correctly, one or two people have commented, after hearing my little attempts at music for the first time, how I don’t come across as a musician at all. I didn’t really know what to say. On one hand, its great to hear, it knocks down one instance of pretension and insincerity from my impression. On the other hand, I come across as just an average joe, with nothing to offer, nothing to give, nothing to pique an interest from anyone. Life is duality, it seems. Ticks me off.

On other places, people are busy hyping themselves, with stupid little emoticons and their hip little pictures. Everyone is fun,  amiable and jovial. But when you actually meet them their faces are cold as stone.

More on pretension later, I’m sure.

4 Responses to “pretension”


  1. And yet I meet people who are stone cold on the outside, but if you explore them they are ‘fun, amiable and jovial”..

  2. Kamil Says:

    I haven’t heard Helmet (the video’s loading) but if its not pretentious rock, I’m very intrigued.


Leave a Reply

